kittens-1

No this isn’t the title of a hot, new romance novel, though I suppose that holds an interesting thought. Cowboys in tight jeans, the smell of leather and fresh hay….

No wait! It’s about kittens.

Tiny little explorers of the heart with their eyes barely open. Still learning about the world.

These little characters have had a lot of visitors. It’s mostly been young girls, and me.

On many days after I’ve fed the Golden Girls, I’ll swing by the barn to check on the babies.

kittens-2

Oh my goodness, they are cute.

When I pick them up (you know I do!) they latch onto my shirt, sharp little claws inserted into the fabric, holding on for dear life. And when I try to put them back into their little nest behind the hay bales, they hold on even tighter. “Take me with you,” they mew in high pitched, baby cat voices. I’m certain that’s what they’re saying.

So far I’ve resisted their impassioned pleas. They aren’t even ready to go out into the big world. But as they get a little older, I know the pull will be even greater.

 

When our sweet Mija died, we agreed to wait a few months before bringing another animal into our family. I’m trying hard to keep my end of that agreement.

But, I had no idea that kittens would be involved in the “test.”

Every day when my husband leaves for work, he levels his gaze at me. “Do I need to be worried?”

And I look him square in the eye and reply, “No. No need to worry.”

Yeah, right.

It did help to watch as one of the young girls hovered over the kittens yesterday. She’s apparently named them and knows each of their personalitites. Her mother told me they are thinking about adopting one. I felt better about that. Maybe I can let go of the idea of adoption.

Yes, I can. Really.

For now I’ll get my kitten fix with visits to the barn until everyone has been adopted and I can forget about them.

Are you buying any of this?

I’m working hard to!

