Ripe-Berries

Some days the simplest of things give me the most pleasure.

Lately I’ve been sitting on my back deck watching the robins stuff themselves on ripe berries from our Serviceberry trees.

I’m telling you these are happy birds.

They glide in, land on a branch and begin plucking the red, ripe fruit and offering satisfied chirps as they go. Sometimes the chirps are more like squawks.

 

My husband thinks the birds get a little tipsy from the overripe berries.

So be it. It’s summer after all!

 

This experience is short lived as the robins can devour every last berry in record time, which makes it all the sweeter for me. It’s become one of the summer events I look forward to each year.

 

I love this up close and personal intersection with nature.

 

Are there summer nature events that fill your soul?

I’d love to hear about them. Just leave a comment in the section below.

 

P.S. I tried many times to get a picture of the birds in the berries, but they were having none of it. Every time I got close, off they flew. I guess you’ll have to use your imagination on this one!

 

