“Make new friends but keep the old. One is silver and the other’s gold.”

 

Jack-back

I always get a little misty-eyed when I hear stories about animals who had once known each other, then were separated for a long time, and then reunited. There are several tear-jerkers about elephants. How after years of being apart they immediately know each other and find comfort in being together once again.

On Tuesday when I went out to feed the Golden Girls, they weren’t waiting for me at the gate, like they usually are. I had to walk deep into the pasture to find them.

First thing I noticed was not two, but three horses grazing together. I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me, because we all know that the GG’s are not fond of hanging out with the herd.

As I drew closer, the newcomer approached me and I felt this wave of excitement when I recognized him. Jack (aka Amigo in this blog) was back.

This dear horse who was part of the original Herd of Oldsters and Bud’s best pal was reunited with his friends.

I actually got a lump in my throat and my eyes felt damp. Not too long after Bud died, Jack moved to a new boarding facility. We all missed him. The Herd of Oldsters was whittled down from the original five members, to Pepper and Chickadee.

I haven’t seen Jack’s people, so I don’t know how it is he came back, but I am thrilled. He is a sweet guy with a boatload of personality. We picture him walking into the pasture and finding the Golden Girls.

“Hello ladies! I’m baaack.”

And now they are the Golden Girls plus one. A herd of three, together all the time.

It must feel comforting.

Like old times.

 Welcome home, Jack!

P.S. Is there an old friend you could reconnect with? How about today?

