“Present moment. Perfect Moment.”

~Parker Palmer

If I’ve learned anything from my time with the horses, it’s this:

Accepting things as they are is an excellent path to contentment.

Butts-in-wind-1

Horses are much better at this than humans. We continue to believe we’re in control. We scurry around trying with all our might to change things, sometimes only ending up exhausted or alienated from the people or situations we are trying to control.

I’m not suggesting that we shouldn’t improve our lives.

Of course we should. We go to school, we learn new skills, we take risks, we dream, we act, we grow.

What I am suggesting is that it’s a bit of a dance on the razor’s edge–knowing when to act and when to surrender.

A few days ago when I was out feeding the Golden Girls, the wind began to blow, bringing with it a flurry of snowflakes. The temperature dropped rapidly as the snow began to stick.

Butts-in-wind-2

Pepper and Chickadee knew exactly what to do. They turned their butts to the wind and continued eating, scarcely missing a beat.

On the other hand, I shouted at the snow: “Really? Why can’t we have nice weather? Isn’t this out of your system by now?”

Then I pulled on hat and gloves, muttering all the while.

I allowed the weather to influence my mood–and not for the better.

I wasn’t living in the present moment, but rather wishing for something that wasn’t going to happen. At least right then.  It’s March in Colorado, for goodness sakes.

The experience reminded me (yet again) how I sometimes allow my mood to be affected by things over which I have absolutely no control.

It takes practice to learn the fine art of surrendering to what is.

All I can say is that I’m working on it. And with my two sweet old teachers, I have great role models.

And plenty of opportunities!

