Snowy-Pasture-Collage

News Flash: It’s still winter.

I know the folks on the east coast have no doubt about that, but here in Colorado, Mother Nature toys with us. She’s tossed fifty and even sixty degree days at us, only to snap us back to reality with yesterday’s snowstorm.

Luckily we got coats on the Golden Girls so they were prepared. I had to do a bit of self talk to get my head in the right place to venture out. But I did – can’t bear to think about those two sweet old things going without their extra calories.

Once I arrived, I was thrilled with the beauty of the snow.

The day was hazy and it was still lightly snowing. The snow had muffled the sounds so that there was only a distant hum of traffic on the Interstate and a slight buzzing of wires overhead.

But mostly it was still.

So still I could hear the horses chewing their grain. I was alone with my horses and it was magical. And such a gift.

It made me realize, yet again, that there is always something beautiful to be found when you really open your eyes and heart to look.

 

