Golden-Pasture

I took this photograph on New Year’s Day when dark clouds and chilly temperatures greeted me in the pasture. The first day of the New Year–a clean slate filled with endless possibilities and a healthy dose of the unknown. I have no idea how the months will unfold. All I know is they will unfold and my job is to remain conscious and trust that things are unfolding exactly as they should.

And for someone who likes to be in serious control of her life, this trusting business is no small task!

Yet when I gaze at this photo with its golden grasses and churning grey clouds, I feel somehow relaxed.

Opened up.

And yes, maybe even a little ready to trust what this year may have in store for me.

 

It’s been a busy couple of weeks for us.

Our sweet little grandson and his parents have been visiting, filling our home with four-year-old energy. Oh my goodness, I should really say energy with a capital E! They’ve returned home now and I am working to get back to the routine of my life. In case you’ve wondered where my blog posts have been, this explains it, I hope.

I’ve been participating in an online creative photography course led by Catherine Anderson, which has given me wonderful inspiration and ideas.

Our most recent assignment was this:

 I encourage you to use your camera as an instrument of gratitude to photograph anything you see that touches your soul with a sense of beauty.  These are not necessarily large or grand things. Beauty and abundance surround us in many small ways: the shape of a leaf, the flow of water, the bird bathing in the birdbath.

 

Catherine calls them “blessings of beauty,” and this photograph is one of my blessings. From now on (for this year at least) I intend to offer a Blessing of Beauty in my Tuesday post.

Looking forward to our journey together this year, with Mija, the Golden Girls and blessings and blessings of beauty to inspire and soothe us.

 Onward into the New Year!

