Sundown-at-pasture

A few days ago, the day of this gorgeous sunset pictured above, I was feeling pretty darned smug because I have such a smart horse.

Mind you, this has nothing to do with me; it’s all Miss P.

She is a quick learner and sharp as the proverbial tack. Lately I’ve been walking her to the upper gate after she’s finished eating, because right now the horses are bored and hungry, and tend to crowd the gate.

She hates that. It’s just been easier to use the upper gate.

It took one time of me leading her, and then she started walking herself to the gate. People would watch in amazement as Pepper walked beside me with no halter, no lead rope.

Here’s where the smugness comes in. (Cue the bolt of lightning and ominous music.)

I was feeling very proud as we walked past a new boarder – at least someone I don’t know.

“Your horse just follows you?”

“Sometimes,” I said, my chest all puffed up with pride.

“Wow, that’s amazing.”

“I know,” I said. “She’s a smart girl.”

And that’s when Pepper decided she didn’t want to go any further.

In fact, what she wanted was to have a bite or two of a nearby bale of hay. Hay that belonged to another horse, I might add. She turned and walked away from the gate, giving me her best “just try and make me” look.

I sighed.

Then I walked up to her and after a couple of tries, slipped the halter around her neck.

I guess she wasn’t in the mood to cooperate, or show off.

Eventually she agreed to let me lead her back into the pasture.

Isn’t there a Bible verse about pride going before the fall?

Thanks Pepper for keeping me humble!

 

P.S. You may have noticed that my blog posts have only been on Tuesday and Thursday for a couple of weeks. My husband recently had surgery and I am his cook and caregiver. He’s doing fine, but I am busier than I expected. I’ll get back to my regular three times a week soon. Thanks for noticing!

