Forty

Love those ears!

This is Forty.

At least that’s what’s branded on his neck. He only drops by occasionally to say hello, get his head scratched and of course to nibble a hay cube.

And then another.

And then maybe another five or six!

He’s a nice horse. Friendly, mannerly, and really, just a sweetie.

I’m told there are ten senior citizen horses in the pasture right now. It’s no surprise that as we age, our animals follow right along beside us.

I don’t know about you, but I find it inspiring and somewhat comforting. I like sharing space with these wise, old, sweet things.

And I’m sure they’ve passed the word among them to be on the lookout for the Snack Lady.

I’m good with that too!

My son suggested making a photo book of the oldsters in the pasture. I’m thinking it could be fun.

Stay tuned!

