It is only when we silent the blaring sounds of our daily existence that we can finally hear the whispers of truth that life reveals to us, as it stands knocking on the doorsteps of our hearts. 

~K.T. Jong

Solitude

I do some of my best meditating when I am with the horses.

It’s usually a time when I turn down the noise of my life and the outside world. To-do lists vanish for an hour. As do deadlines, worries, thoughts about the future, thoughts about the past.

Pepper has taught me to be fully present with her and whatever may be happening in that moment.

Present moment, perfect moment.

There are many days when the hour in the pasture is the only quiet part of my day.

 I’ve come to depend on it.

In my first post on this blog I talked about “pasture Zen.” And now three years later, I more fully understand how valuable my time alone in the pasture has been.

Recently another boarder was out visiting her horse the same time I was with Miss P. When she approached, she said, “I’m sorry to intrude on your solitude.”

At first I shook off her comment, but then I realized she’d absolutely nailed it.

I am most content when I’m alone with the horses. It has become a sort of walking meditation, a time of introspection and solitude for me.

And so very healing.

Oh, I love sharing the horses with visitors. And when Rick and I go together to feed, it is a special time that I cherish. But those lovely experiences don’t replace what solitude offers me.

I am by nature an introvert.

I don’t especially like crowds.

And while I love people, I prefer them in smaller groups. I excel at one-on-one interactions. It’s no big surprise that I became a therapist!

My other time of solitude is when I am in the garden.

I prune and weed and examine my plants in much the same way I care for Pepper. I’m able to put the pressing needs of the world, my world, on hold for those garden-moments.

How about you?

Where do you find your moments of solitude?

What helps you slow down and nurture yourself?

I’d love to hear.

