“A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walks out.”

~Walter Winchell

Newcomers

I’m big on friends, but then I guess you already know that.

Relationships, friendships, people are what ring my chimes. And I am blessed to have a core group of real friends, who continue to be there for me. Through thick and thin, good and bad, smart decisions and many not so smart ones.

Real friends.

You know who you are and I thank you from the bottom of my overflowing heart for your steadfast presence in my life.

 

So in the pasture, there has been quite a lot of change this summer.

Horses coming and going. New fields opening up.

A few weeks ago I noticed two new horses, hanging out by the Golden Girls. They weren’t exactly together, but definitely in the vicinity.

When I talked with their owner, I learned they were indeed brand new to the pasture, and in fact new to life in a pasture. They’d spent their lives in a stall and paddock arrangement. Coming to the pasture was a huge change – sort of like lifelong New Yorkers moving to a ranch in Wyoming.

So these two geldings were desperately looking for their peeps.

Unfortunately, Miss P. and Chickadee weren’t impressed. They are pretty happy in their little herd of two. So, ears were flattened and hind legs kicked to tell the newcomers to skedaddle.

I thought the girls were a bit premature in their actions, but who am I to really know what’s in the heart of two aging mares?

 

The larger herd was not welcoming either, so these two boys just hung out with each other – another herd of two.

That is until Emma arrived on the scene.

Now she is one hot little number. A youngster compared to our Golden Girls with only eight years under her saddle. She is one good-looking, spunky little mare – sleek black coat with just a teensy bit of white. Gorgeous.

 

Emma also tried to join the Golden Girls, but it didn’t go well. Her friend-making skills aren’t that good. She started the negotiation by kicking and squealing at Pepper. You can imagine Miss P.’s reaction. “You are out of here,” was her exact sentiment.

 

So Emma was alone.

The larger herd had done their chasing number on her as well. Evening was coming on, and she was tired and scared.

That is until the new boys found her.

When they ambled toward her, she was throwing another snit fit, kicking and squealing and giving them nasty looks.

But they didn’t leave. Her bad mood didn’t seem to faze them.

Emma’s owner told me this story with a catch in her throat and a slick film of tears in her eyes. “They just stood with her while she threw her fit,” she said.

Eventually the three of them moved into the loafing shed, Emma still carrying a big load of attitude with her. But the boys just waited her out.

“They calmed her down,” Emma’s owner said. “Gentled her.”

And now, as you may have guessed, they are a solid herd of three.

Emma and the boys – three newbies to the pasture, are settling in nicely.

 

Emma’s owner told me, laughing, “Maybe all she needed was a good man, or two in her life!”

“Maybe so,” I replied. “It wouldn’t be the first time that’s happened in the world of relationships.”

