“It’s not the strongest of species that survives, or the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change.”

~ Charles Darwin

Jack Collage

There are days I hate change.

Thank you very much, but I like my life the way it is. It took me nearly twenty years to even change the configuration of furniture in my living room!

 

Safe to say I don’t do change well.

And yet, deep in my core, I know that change is part of life.

An important part of life.

And being resilient to change helps keep us going.

 

I know these things and I have to re-learn them often.

Really often.

In my mindfulness practice, I am reminded about the impermanence of everything.

I guess it’s what one would call a “growth edge” for me.

 

The most recent big change that I’m learning to accept is Amigo’s departure from the pasture.

On June first he moved to a different boarding facility. It was necessary because of his health. You may recall he’s been out of the pasture because of surgery on his foot. It was something that had to happen.

I understand. I just don’t like it!

So now the Herd of Oldsters is officially down to Pepper and Chickadee – The  Golden Girls.

I have to come clean about something.

Amigo’s real name is Jack.

When I started the blog, I didn’t know his name, so I gave him a blog name. But now I want to recognize this amazing horse for who he is, and was to everyone in our family.

 

Jack is Mr. Personality.

I have so many photos of him because he is so darned photogenic.

A big goof.

He was Bud’s loyal friend, right to the end, something I will never forget.

 

He had this way of strutting down the road. Think John Travolta in Saturday Night Fever.

Bold.

Even a tad bit brash.

Sure of himself.

 

He’s the horse of a million faces.

The collage only scratches the surface of Jack’s expressions. Jack loves to stick out his tongue.

And he loves snacks. Almost as much as Pepper.

 

I figured out that we first met Jack in 2007, which means he’s been part of our pasture family for six years. I’ve talked to him, sung rock and roll with him, handed out snacks, and simply enjoyed the pleasure of his company.

He was a good friend to us; a great friend really.

And we’ll miss him.

So…dear, sweet Jack: have a good life.

Make some new friends; eat some grass, enjoy some sunsets, and have fun wherever you are.

 

And thank you so much for being such an important part of our lives.

We will never, ever forget you!

 

Via con Dios mi Amigo.

