“We are forever in jeopardy of clamming up and closing off our walls to the beauty and magic of the wild edges of our world.”

~ Chris Brogan

Garden sculpture at a private residence in Tacoma Washington.

Garden sculpture at a private residence in Tacoma Washington.

When I first read this quote a week or so ago, I gulped.

Then I gulped again.

To be in jeopardy of clamming up/closing off to the beauty and magic of the wild edges of my world is something I DO NOT want any part of.

 

I want all the beauty and wildness I can find. I want it flowing over me like an unending, rushing river.

Certainly some days I find beauty and wildness when I am out feeding my sweet old  girl.

But on many days, my time with the horses is routine.

Same old, same old.

 

That’s when I force myself to wake up, look around and find something beautiful.

Right there.

Not at some gallery.

In a magazine.

Or online.

 

I search for beauty and wildness right in front of my eyes.

 

I always want to live at the wild edges of my world, and yet it is so darned easy to slip slide away from it.

To become comfortable and complacent.

To be more aware of the latest installment of a television show, than the fuzzy goslings toddling after their mother, or the cloud formations over Horsetooth Rock, or the bright red tulip pushing her way through the pile of spring snow.

 

Wild edges.

I want them all.

 

How about you?

