Family Time-1

These last few days have been brutal in the pasture.

Deep snow and bitter wind have made conditions quite miserable. The horses hunker down, butts to the wind and wait.

Programmed deep in their DNA is the knowledge that this weather will pass, that spring is on the way. Many, including Miss Pepper, had already begun the process of shedding their winter haircoats, which in hindsight may not have been the best of ideas.

Until spring does make her somewhat tardy appearance, they wait, standing quietly—guardians of the frozen pasture.

On these bitterly cold days, there is very little action among the horses. So when I happened upon Mama and her son Brio giving each other a horse hug, it warmed my heart.

It was as if she was telling him, “Hang in there, son. Nice weather is on the way.” She was doing that reassuring parent thing that those of us who are parents understand at our core.

 

Family Time-2

Over Easter we visited my son and his family.

I found myself sneaking glances at my son being a father.

And each time I observed a tender moment between father and son, my heart nearly exploded out of my chest. There is something so deeply beautiful and tender about this passing on of family love.

I overhear my son using words and phrases that I used as a mother with him, words that my mother said to me. And I expect her mother used those same nurturing words. And her mother before her.

Programmed in our DNA is the capacity to love and nurture our young. And every time I come upon it, my heart expands. Doesn’t matter if it is horse or human or goose, or you name it.

I guess you could call me an interaction junkie.

We’re coming up on the weekend. Take a moment and give someone you love your own version of Mama’s horse hug.

It will do you both a world of good.

