We have new neighbors moving in next door. When I first heard the noise in the driveway, I peeked out the window. I didn’t walk outside and say hello. I pried the mini-blinds apart and took a look.

Snooped some might say.

Just so you know, I’m not completely socially inept.  I did eventually greet them, exchange names and welcome this young family – mom, dad and two young kids – to the neighborhood.

In a moment that can only be described as pasture imitating life, a day or so later I observed similar behavior when I was out feeding Miss P. We were at the new gate, just getting to know the horses that live in the surrounding paddocks.

 

Curious Horses-2

There were two cuties in the paddock that borders the pasture that I hadn’t seen before. They were causing quite a stir. On one side, pasture horses were checking them out with great care. Ears were pricked with rapt attention, eyes focused on the strangers.

 

Curious-Horses-1

And on the other side, the horses in the adjoining paddock were doing the same. They were getting a good look at the newbies.

 

Curious Horses-3

As for the two young horses that’d just moved in, they seemed a little anxious. They kept checking the feed bins, whinnying and sticking close to each other.

Have you ever walked into a meeting or an exercise class a little late and had all eyes turn to you?  I think that’s how the newbies felt.

Awkward.

Unsure.

Off their game. And of course, it wasn’t helping much to have horses staring at you.

In stereo.

 

I don’t know the story on these two. And I haven’t had time to make one up! So for now, they are the newbies.

