“To live content with small means; to seek elegance rather than luxury, and refinement rather than fashion; to be worthy, not respectable, and wealthy, not, rich; to listen to stars and birds, babes and sages, with open heart; to study hard; to think quietly, act frankly, talk gently, await occasions, hurry never; in a word, to let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious, grow up through the common–this is my symphony.”

-William Henry Channing

At one of my favorite blogs, 37Days, the author Patti Digh shared this quote and posed the question, “What is your simple symphony?”

 

crocus-in-leaves

The quote and the question are powerful. And they totally nailed for me what it is I seek to live each day.

A simple symphony – make that my simple symphony.

How elegant.

How completely right on.

Mind you I don’t always get there. In fact I often don’t get there.

Then I must remind myself that life is all about the journey, not the destination.

I apologize for sounding a little like a fortune cookie. It happens sometimes with me!

 

So one afternoon this week I was hurrying out to feed Miss Pepper. I was later than usual, because I’d gone to lunch with an old friend. Hurrying was on my mind and I almost missed the “crocus in dried leaves” symphony playing right at my front door.

 

But just in the nick of time, I saw it.

I looked down at the flowerbed beside me and saw these perky crocuses, nestled in a bed of brown, dry leaves.

I stopped. Inhaled deeply and for a second or two, just appreciated the sight. It was definitely my simple symphony for the day – at least one.

I’m convinced we have multiple symphonies available to us all the time.

 

So I pass on Patti’s question to you: What’s your simple symphony?

