Shawnee-hair

This is Shawnee.

She isn’t part of the herd that lives in the pasture. Everyday she’s turned out into an enclosure next to the pasture gate. We’ve gotten to be friends. She quickly figured out the hay cube connection.

Am I that transparent?

Okay, don’t answer that!

So Miss Shawnee has had a few hair issues. Somewhere along the line she lost a big chunk of her mane. I don’t know how it happened and she’s not saying. She has this wild forelock that could be sticking up over her ear, standing straight up in the wind, or getting matted onto her forehead.

Hair issues.

I can so relate. All my life I’ve had baby-fine hair that is stick straight. My hair doesn’t stand up because it doesn’t have enough body. Instead it clings to my  head. Just a different end of the same issue.

When I was a girl, I think my mother had no idea what to do with my hair. For much of my childhood I wore a bob. You know – straight bangs and straight sides. Interestingly, the bob has come into fashion again. And now that I think of it, I’m still wearing a version.

Truly, some things never change!

So one day when I drove up to feed the old sweeties, I noticed that Shawnee had gotten a haircut.

Shawnee-Bangs

She now has bangs.

Mamie Eisenhower

Mamie Eisenhower

My first thought was that she looked a little like Mamie Eisenhower.

For those of you who have no idea who I’m referring to, Mamie Eisenhower was married to Dwight D. (Ike) Eisenhower, the 34th President of the United States. It was her hairstyle that prompted the term, “Mamie bangs.”

For Shawnee, gone was the wild, sticking-up-over-her-ear forelock.

The “I’m ready to kick some booty” look was replaced by this rather sedate, “I’m going to my book group” hairstyle.

 

Where do you land on this important question for 2013?

Wild, out of control hair or sedate, sensible bangs?

I’ll pass your thoughts on to Shawnee.

P.S. For the record, I have nothing against book groups, bangs or Mamie Eisenhower.

