Hawks-on-gate

I took this photo in the fall when the days were long and we often were out feeding our two old sweeties at twilight.

For several days these two birds teased us. They came to visit, but kept their distance. I longed for a camera lens that would allow me a better look at them. But I didn’t have a long lens; just my little point and shoot camera that has served me quite well, really.

What I ended up capturing was this rather mysterious photo of the two birds at dusk.

There is something completely peaceful to me about this picture. It harkens me back to the fall when the pasture still held green grass and contented horses – a time that was easy and comfortable for all of us.

 

Perhaps the greatest blessing in my daily treks to the pasture to feed Bud and Pepper and make sure they have the medicine they need, is the peace that I  find. It gets me out of my busy too-much-to-do-and-not-enough-time-to-do-it life and into the world of nature where life moves at a completely different pace.

 

When I allow myself to relax into this world, I almost always find peace.

The quiet envelops me and forces me to slow down.

The horses respond in direct proportion to my level of stress. When I’m calm so are they. They provide instant biofeedback and a palpable reminder to settle myself.

 

I am able to look around and find so many things of interest – absolutely beautiful sights to enrich and sometimes thrill me.

Right in front of my nose.

So here’s the really fascinating thing about this.

The more I look, the more I see.

And I’m guessing the same is true for you.

You may not have a pasture and horses as your guides, but we walk in the same world. And it’s a world filled to the brim with wonder and beauty when you look for it.

 

In this crazybusy holiday season I invite you to set aside a little time to do something that causes you to slow your pace and breathe in the world of nature.

The options are endless.

For me the key is to simply notice what’s around me.

Notice and appreciate.

