“If you haven’t any charity in your heart, you have the worst kind of heart trouble.”

                   ~Bob Hope

An act of kindness for an old friend.

I’m not sure who designates these things, but apparently this week is World Kindness Week, and yesterday was World Kindness Day. I didn’t learn about it soon enough to write something on that day, but I figure one day late isn’t too shabby.

 

You see, I am all about kindness.

Not only is it a language that I constantly work to learn, it is one I resonate with when others speak it.

There is research that shows that acts of kindness are good for a person.

For instance, they increase the levels of dopamine in our brains. That means being kind makes us feel good. Some people call this the “helper’s high.”

Kindness is Good for our Hearts 

Kindness also gives our hearts a boost by releasing the chemical oxytocin, which goes on to release nitric oxide in blood vessels causing them to expand. And that’s a good thing. Some researchers call acts of kindness, cardio-protective.

I like to think of it as aerobics for the soul!

Kindness Slows Aging 

And if that’s not enough to make you want to run out and practice acts of kindness, there is exciting research that shows that oxytocin also reduces the levels of free radicals and inflammation in the cardiovascular system and thus slows aging at its source.

Hello!

 

Kindness also makes for better relationships.

As humans we are wired for kindness and respond positively when others are kind to us, not to mention the boost we get. It’s a win/win interaction.

And it’s contagious to boot. The more we are kind, the more we are kind. I like that.

 

I’ve been focusing on gratitude this month, and now I’m adding kindness. Seems like a good match.

I’m going for World Kindness Year.

Will you join me? 

