It’s been one full week since I challenged myself to focus on gratitude for a month. I thought it would be a good idea to report how it’s going for me. I always do better with a little accountability!

I’ve managed to write in my gratitude notebook five out of the seven days. And on the other two, I created a list in my mind, but then didn’t put it in the notebook.

Here’s what I’m noticing:

  • When I’m looking for things to feel grateful about, I see more of them.
  • I feel more positive about everything.
  • Sometimes I utter a thank-you under my breath when I am particularly moved, and somehow that makes me feel even better.
  • Many of the things on my daily gratitude list have to do with nature, people, and/or animals. No big surprise there I guess.
  • I like how I’m feeling.

Here’s one thing from my list:

We have a Swedish Columnar Aspen tree planted close to our front door. This fall it has been especially beautiful with deep gold to orange leaves. As I was walking up the stairs in my house yesterday morning I could see the tree through a window on the landing. Framed against the vivid blue sky were these brilliant yellow leaves.

It was breathtaking.

And outside on the sidewalk in front of the house and in the bed beside the walk, the leaves look like gold coins strewn everywhere.

It makes me happy.

Thank you!

 

How’s the month of gratitude going for you?

Please take a moment and leave a comment below. If you’re willing, tell us something from your gratitude list.

Thank you!

