Horses grateful for the hay truck

I’ve decided that November is a great time to polish up my gratitude glasses.

If you’ve been reading the blog for a while now, you know this is an ongoing quest of mine. I want to focus on what’s working instead of what isn’t. I want my life to be an expression of gratitude.

For some of you that may sound entirely too much like “pop psychology.”

I get that.

Honestly I do.

But the research is strong.

Practicing gratitude can improve life.

My life.

Your life.

Check out Dr. Robert Emmons at the University of California at Davis for the details of his groundbreaking research on gratitude.

In short, if you want to have overall better health, sounder sleep, reduced anxiety and depression, greater long-term satisfaction with your life, and a kinder behavior in general, you gotta accentuate the positive.

So here’s my commitment:

Every day for the month of November I’m going to focus on gratitude – the things for which I’m grateful.

Yes, I know we’re all exhausted from a particularly vitriolic election.

Yes, the east coast is reeling from Super storm Sandy (sending blessings to everyone.)

Yes, life doesn’t always go as we want it to.

In the face of that and so much more, I choose to feel grateful.

And I’m inviting you to join me.

Before you pull the covers up over your tired body each night, make a quick list of five things for which you’re grateful that day.

I’ll be doing the same.

To kick things off, I am so very grateful to you for taking time to read these blog posts and follow the antics of my two old sweeties and the Herd of Oldsters.

Thank you!

