Nothing Doing

Some of us need to discover that we will not begin to live more fully until we have the courage to do and see and taste and experience much less than usual…

~Thomas Merton

View from my snowy deck

Well, we’ve had the first snow of the season and it is a bold reminder that winter is at the door.

We blanketed the Two Old Sweeties and they seem grateful for the protection and warmth.

In winter, the pasture  slows down. Horses are focused on finding food and staying warm.  They instinctually follow the call of the season.

Winter is a time of hibernation.

Of allowing the field to lay fallow.

A time of resting.

With the first snow I often re-read this lovely quote by Thomas Merton, that I’ve taped close to my computer.

I want the visual reminder that less can be more.

I want to remember to slow down and allow my body and mind to rest.

To have time to re-group, re-fuel, and regenerate.

I want to remember that I don’t have to be “on” twenty-four/seven. When you work for yourself, that one can be a challenge. There is always something else to do.

My goal for the winter: A little less doing and a little more being.

What about you? Are you willing to let yourself rest?

