Apparently we’ve become something of an attraction at the boarding facility where Bud and Pepper live.

Here’s the most recent example:

On Sunday we were out feeding our two old sweeties, like we do every day. We’d loaded up their feed in the back of our SUV. When we arrived, we pulled into our regular parking spot, opened up the back of the vehicle, and let Bud and Pepper out. They were waiting for us at the gate, like usual.

They bellied up to their feed pans and began munching away. We were reveling in the blue sky, warm air and all round gorgeous autumn afternoon.

We saw three people walking down the road toward us, but didn’t think anything about it. We figured they were coming to pull a horse out of the pasture.

 Instead, they stopped by the two old sweeties and asked if they could take some pictures.

“We heard about this, but couldn’t believe it,” the woman said.

I smiled, but gave somewhat of a puzzled look I guess, because she went on to explain. “I’ve seen horses do a lot of things, but never eat from the back of a car. My friends back home will love it.”

“Really?” I said as she continued to snap photos. “It’s just another day with the horses for us.”

 She smiled.

I smiled.

Then Bud and Pepper started showing off.

One at a time they walked up to the fence post where we keep the bucket of alfalfa cubes.  We call it the dessert bar. No halters or lead ropes, of course. They munched their cubes and then with just a little reminder, they walked to the pasture gate and when we opened it up, they walked in.

Click, click went the camera.

“You mean they just know to go in?”

“Yup. Most of the time they are really cooperative, Rick said.”

“Wow! I just haven’t seen horses do that.”

“We started feeding them out of the back of the SUV or pickup when they got old,” I explained. “It was a lot of work for them to bend down to eat.”

She smiled again.

“I know it sounds like we’re babying them,” I said. “We’re not exactly your average horse owners. It just seemed like a considerate thing to do.”

She smiled. “I think it’s great.”

 

After they left, we laughed about the whole interaction.

“The thing is,” Rick started, “you do think this is how everyone should treat their horses.”

 I smiled.

Glad we could offer a bit of entertainment for some out of town visitors on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon.

 

So tell me this: Do you do things with your animals that observers might find odd, interesting, or unusual?

I’m not the only one.

Am I?

