“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread. Places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.”

~John Muir

I am tied to the land.

There are places that I’ve visited since I was a child. I need them as much as I need oxygen and water.

And if for some reason I’m not able to make at least an annual visit, I feel it in my heart and more important, I feel it in my soul.

 One of my heart places is Vedauwoo, an area of rocky outcrops in Wyoming between Cheyenne and Laramie. The name is an anglicized version of an Arapaho word that means “land of the earth born spirit.”

My husband and I had taken a drive earlier this week to see some of the spectacular fall color. And to get me to Wyoming and Vedauwoo for a soul vitamin.

We weren’t disappointed.

It was a glorious day with the sky full of dramatic clouds.

Vedauwoo was nearly empty, which made it an even more powerful experience – to be alone in all that beauty.

We found plenty of color in the aspen, willows, shrubs and grasses of the area.

It was truly beautiful.

I got some great photos that I’ll likely share sometime down the line.

 

But as we were leaving I saw the landscape that I captured in the photo above.

It took my breath.

It filled my heart.

I wanted to cry at the stark and profound beauty that is Wyoming.

 

Talk about a soul vitamin!

 

Do you have places of the heart? I’d love to know about them. Leave a comment if you want to share.

