Time is a fluid thing – abstract and complex.

I’m grateful for the structure and predictability the calendar provides.  Do this particular thing on this day. It’s how most of us get things done, remember important dates, and function in the world. Days pass into months, which in turn pass into years.

But in addition to the calendar, (or maybe in spite of  it) I measure time in terms of my relationships.

“I’ve known this person since our children were babies,” I’ll say.

Or, “We’ve come to this same picnic area in Wyoming since I was a little girl.”

Or, “Remember when we planted that tree? Now look how it’s grown.”

Relationships with people and places are how I really note the passing of time, and it’s hugely comforting.

 

This summer our goddaughters visited the pasture to catch up with Bud and Pepper.

We’ve known these beautiful girls from the time they took their first breaths, and have loved them ever since.

As I watched them saying their hellos to Bud and Pepper on this warm summer evening, I remembered the many times they’ve spent with our two old sweeties.

We have wonderful memories of visiting the horses, riding in the round pen and barn, grooming, giving baths, handing out treats, and just soaking up that good horse energy.

Instead of being separate events, they string together in my mind like a ball of twine growing larger with each visit.

Back in the seventies Jim Croce sang:

If I could save time in a bottle,

the first thing that I’d like to do

Is to save every day

till eternity passes away

Just to spend them with you.

 

What would you put in your bottle?

