In our town, school starts tomorrow. With it comes a shift of season, no matter the temperature or what the calendar says.

Summer is over.

There may yet be warm days and a few remaining weekend picnics, but the weekdays now belong to the serious business of school and work.

It doesn’t matter that I have no direct connection to school anymore.

No kids buying new school supplies.

No teachers’ meetings to attend.

No college classes on my calendar

I am hardwired to school starting as surely as if I were a teacher or student.

Every year it seems that summer flew by.

I saw Christmas decorations in some of the stores the other day, which kind of freaked me out.

I’m working diligently to live in the moment, so thinking about a holiday that is four months away wasn’t working for me!

Does the beginning of school ring any bells in your memory?

