There I’ve said it publicly. Today is my sixty-fifth birthday.

I don’t want to act vain or embarrassed about it. It is who I am.  I’ve been living my life for all these years and for the most part, I’m proud of who I’ve become. It’s a good life.

Unlike horses, we humans can sometimes get funny about our age. We don’t acknowledge the actual number because we want to appear young. And if I’m being totally honest here, I have those twinges.

 

For me though, the number sixty-five isn’t an embarrassment. It’s more a reminder to get on with my life, because not a one of us is here indefinitely.

 

So here’s a list of goals (at least the ones on my mind right now) to inaugurate being sixty- five years old.

 

  1. Spend more time in nature.
  2. Spend time with the people who matter to me.
  3. Make art every day.
  4. Honor my dreams.
  5. Trust that I really am a writer and go for it.
  6. Take more risks.
  7. Get rid of the things (and thoughts) that no longer serve me.
  8. Walk, ride my bicycle, splash in the water, dance and sing my way toward my seventies.
  9. Eat the most delicious, fresh, seasonal produce as often as I can.
  10. Take conscious action to reduce my footprint on this wonder of a planet.
  11. Enjoy my life like crazy!

 

As for that girl with the guitar – I keep the picture of her at my desk. It helps me remember who I really am.

 

Happy Birthday to me!

