Yesterday when I was out feeding our two old sweeties I couldn’t help but notice that Bud has a red nose. His soft muzzle, normally pale and mottled, is now crimson.

It’s not quite Rudolph quality, but it is most definitely sunburned.

Our sweet old boy looks as if he’s been hanging out at the beach. You know, surfing, swimming and joking with his buddies. Except that we’re in Colorado, not California.

Oh well, so much for that theory.

Instead, he’s been in a pasture with very little shade and a string of hotter-than-usual summer days.

I’m keeping this post short.

I have to make a trip to the store for a very large tube of zinc oxide!

I’m sure you’ll understand.

 

P.S. I learned yesterday that Red has moved to a ranch in Wyoming with some very nice people to look after him. Even though we miss him, I’m glad he’s going to have his own adoring peeps for the last years of his life. Though I must say, we were pretty darned adoring too!

Miss that tough old Mustang…

