Some of you new to reading this blog may not know about Smoke and my fantastical story about his antics as an undercover rabbit working a covert op in the pasture.

You can catch up with his story here.

And here.

In this summer’s blazing heat, Smoke has apparently decided to blow his cover and be seen. Perhaps it’s too hot to hide.

When I came upon Smoke snoozing in the sun, I feared he wasn’t doing well. Especially when he didn’t move as I approached him.

He was stretched out in the open, no cover, which is very unusual for him. He actually let me get pretty close.

I worried that he was sick.

Or worse.

Thank goodness for those perky ears standing straight up.

Okay whew, he’s alive, I thought.

I was in no mood to deal with a sad rabbit story.

Now, or ever if I’m being totally honest with you.

So as I stood staring at Smoke, he got up. I’m sure he was more than a little peeved that I couldn’t just let him nap.

I had to stand there gawking at him, snapping photos.

He moved closer to cover.

I think he was trying to totally wake up. You know how it feels when you’ve been sleeping in a hot room? How totally dopey you feel.

We hung out for a while before he realized he had a meeting to get to. At least that was the story he gave me.

I saw him again a few days later, in the cool of the evening after we’d had the blessing of rain. He sat in the damp grass, wriggling his nose and surveying the pasture.

I swear he tipped his ears toward me in a greeting.

“How’s it going?” he seemed to say.

In a round about sort of way, we’re like this (index and middle finger held closely together.)

That is to say, we’re close.

Friends, Buds, Compadres.

