There is always something wonderful coming your way.

You just have to pay attention.

Let me set the stage for you.

It was a very hot Saturday afternoon – one of those triple digit days we Colorado dwellers aren’t used to.

My husband and I had been working in the yard most of the morning and we were totally wilted from the heat.

We were sitting in our living room nearly comatose when we heard the drum beat.

“Is someone having a party in the green space?”

My husband got up to look out the window.

“They’re setting up some kind of tent,” he reported.

“Oh no,” we said  in unison. “Another late night party to deal with.”

Heat will do that to a person – make them cranky and curmudgeonly.

The drumming continued, accompanied by Middle Eastern sounding music.

Now we were curious.

We stepped into our yard for a better look.

That’s when one of our neighbors came over and invited us to the show.

A local belly dancing troupe – Satori Dance– was holding a summer recital.

Complete with Arabic drumming and an authentic Moroccan tent.

Right in our back yard.

We wandered over, found a lovely spot in the shade and settled in to watch.

There were girls in gorgeous flowing silk.

There was drumming.

There were girls dancing with swords balanced on their heads.

There was the jingle of coin belts echoing through the green space.

There was Moroccan tea and grapes and cupcakes.

There were little girls dancing along with the women.

It was wonderful.

As I watched, I found myself relaxing. The heat exhaustion oozed out of my body, leaving me refreshed and invigorated.

I’m telling you, you never know what wonderful gift is out there, just waiting for you.

All you have to do is show up for your life.

Prepare to be surprised.

Oh, and pay attention.

