She blasted down the road in the gator, dust flying and the wheels squealing on the turns. Her friend seemed to be hanging on for all he was worth.

It was the last day of school and now summer stretched before them like a fat green ribbon just beginning to unfurl.

These two kids were ripe for an adventure.

She rounded a corner on maybe two wheels and was off to a distant part of the property.

I was feeding our two old sweeties.

When I pulled into the spot where we feed, I noticed two horses, haltered up and grazing in the grass around the hay barn. I figured someone would come along shortly to claim them.

Bud and Pepper munched away.

I handed out treats to Amigo and Red, did a little brushing on our guys and kicked back to enjoy the sun on my shoulders and the smell of fresh grass.

Eau de Summer.

One of the two grazers, an Arab, had been ranging in ever-widening circles, finally hustling after the feed truck when he saw it making its rounds.

It reminded me of a kid running to the ice cream truck in the neighborhood. Ah, there’s another iconic summer image.

The second horse, the white one, had made his way into the hay barn.

I expect he thought he’d hit the mother lode.

You can just see his hindquarters amongst all those bales of hay in the photo above.

Getting him out of there could pose a challenge or two.

This I know from when Bud and Pepper bellied up to that same hay bar.

It’s hard enough to convince a horse to go anywhere, when he doesn’t share your opinion of the need.

Been there, done that too!

 

Fifteen or so minutes later, the gator and kids returned and headed straight for the hay barn.

The boy, somewhere around nine or ten, I’d guess, jumped out and claimed his white horse. He had extra motivation from his mother.

“You’d better get that horse put up quick. You’re already thirty minutes late,” she said.

She was standing on the other side of the barn and not looking any too happy. I’d guess she wasn’t feeling that same giddy feeling engendered by the last day of school.

Parents view summer through an entirely different lens.

I heard the boy say, “Go ask that lady.”

Sure enough, the girl, also around nine-ish, walked over to the two old sweeties and me. “Have you seen an Arab around here?”

In any venue other than a horse facility, one could be confused by the question. But I knew what she meant. I told her I’d seen him following the hay truck.

“Thanks,” she said as she turned toward the gator. Off she went.

I put Bud and Pepper back into the pasture, gathered up my things and headed for home.

I felt a twinge of envy when I thought about these two kids at the start of three months of summer. Unless we’re teachers, or independently wealthy, most of us don’t get that wide-open expanse of summer vacation anymore.

I for one miss it.

I could use a good adventure.

How about you?

 

P.S. I was quite relieved that it wasn’t one of my horses in that hay barn!

 

