Thirty years and looking good!

Some females have a thing about certain birthdays.

A thing called denial.

Or a fancy hybrid of denial mixed with fear.

We soothe our out-of-control-psyches with silly phrases like, “Thirty is the new twenty,” or “I’m only as old as I feel.”

Anything to look, act, be any age but the one we actually are.

We’re hard on ourselves.

Do I have value if I’m not young? Fit? Exciting? Desirable?

It’s a terribly self-destructive game we play.

And mile-marker birthdays just rub in our faces the fact that we are no longer as young as we once were.

Well, Pepper doesn’t concern herself with all that mental junk food, and in her own quiet way is teaching me a thing or two about aging with dignity and grace. (I need this because I’m facing one of those mile-marker birthdays this summer.)

Thirty years ago today a little brown filly made her way to this earth. I didn’t know her then, but I can only imagine how adorable she was. Nice markings, good conformation, bright eyed and bushy tailed.

I have known her for twenty of her thirty years.

And what a trip it’s been.

To celebrate this important birthday, here are ten things I’m learning from the birthday mare:

  1. Be the star of your own life.
  2. Show up every day, even if you have a few aches and pains.
  3. Be loyal to your herd.
  4. Chew your food. Take your time when you eat.
  5. Be strong.
  6. Face your fears.
  7. Establish and maintain routines.
  8. Find strength in being gentle.
  9. Accept help when it’s offered.
  10. Never pass up dessert.

Thanks Miss P. And Happy, Happy Birthday!

Leave a comment and tell us what you’re learning from Pepper. She’d love to know.

