Wednesday with Mija

It’s time for my annual treatise on the value of napping.

It seems this is a topic that must be discussed every so often.

In marketing I think they call it top of mind awareness. Cats don’t really need this reminder.

I’m talking to you – my human friends and family.

You may think I haven’t noticed you running around from one task to the next, to-do lists dangling from your hand.

Or that I don’t see the tired look on your face, or pick up on the stress that sometimes radiates off your body.

But I do.

I notice and to be frank, I worry.

You are a human being, not a human doing.

And if you’re doing, doing, doing all the time, you’re missing out on some of the most wonderful luxuries life has to offer.

Luxuries like stretching out in the sun with a good book, and then when you’ve read your fill, drifting off to sleep.

Dozing in the sun can work miracles for a bad attitude.

You must trust me on this: Life is too short not to take naps.

And read good books.

And spend time with the people you love.

About those to-do lists:

Only use them if they really do help you remember things or get organized.

If they make you feel bad, crumple them up and give them a toss.

Because this is the true nugget of gold we cats want to share with you – life is too short to feel bad.

Are we clear on this?

Good!

Now get out there and take a nap.

 

P.S. Have you noticed in the photograph that I am totally ignoring the microfiber cleaning cloths? When this photo was snapped, I was all about napping in the sun with a good book close by. Nuff said.

