You know I have a soft spot for mustangs.

I’m a child of the west and grew up on a steady diet of movies and books about cowboys and their horses.

I lived in Cheyenne, Wyoming – home of Cheyenne Frontier Days, and one of the biggest rodeos ever.

To me, the wild mustang embodies the spirit of the west – wild, free and beautiful.

But there’s a problem in this paradise. There are too many horses for the land.

So every year the Bureau of Land Management rounds up these gorgeous animals.

The lucky ones find homes.

That’s how Red, the mustang contingent in the Herd of Oldsters came to his people many years ago.

Frankly I hate the stories about the roundups.

Horses are terrified, exhausted from being herded by helicopters, and often separated from their family groupings. They’re held in close quarters with horses they don’t know, or like, which makes for anxiety and behavior problems.

One bright light in this whole saga is the Extreme Mustang Makeover Challenge.

In this annual contest, trainers have ninety days to tame a wild mustang. These are horses that have never known humans. Trainers must  use their knowledge of horses, their courage, and their heart to succeed. At the end of the ninety days, the horses are  made available for adoption.

Wild Horse, Wild Ride is a new film that chronicles a handful of unforgettable characters from their first uneasy meeting with their horses, and follows them over three months as they attempt to transform from scared strangers to the closest of companions.  Follow this link and watch the trailer. It will make you smile.

The film is billed as a “crowd pleaser.” I’m eager to see it and check it out for myself.

If any of you have already had a chance to view this film, let me know. I’m not sure yet when it will show here in northern Colorado, but you can count on me being in my seat, popcorn in hand, with Red’s spirit keeping me company.

