Wednesday with Mija

I’ve had some back pain lately, which has called for several trips to the vet. This isn’t my favorite thing to do.

In fact it doesn’t place on my top ten.

Not even on my top twenty-five.

Sure, they’re nice enough there and try to make my experience “cat friendly.” On that count, I suppose they succeed.

But overall, it’s not my bowl of catnip, so to speak.

I’ve given this a great deal of thought and have come up with a few tips that may make a vet experience more tolerable for your cat.

I think it would work with dogs too, though I’m no expert on canines.

I’m pretty sure it would apply to human visits to the doctor as well.

Again, though, I’m no expert.

Mija’s Top Ten Tips when Visiting the Vet

  1. On the drive to the vet’s office, talk as loudly as you possibly can. This serves two purposes. It lets your driver know you are not a happy camper, and it discharges energy that is building in you.
  2. Never go to the vet alone. Take someone you like and trust. It’s a stressful experience and you will forget much of what the doctor/vet says. You’ll need someone with a cooler head to remember the details for you.
  3. Don’t talk to strangers in the waiting room. And for goodness sakes don’t touch anything. There’s no telling what kind of germs are lurking about.
  4. While we’re on the subject of the waiting room, keep a low profile while you wait. Hunker down in your carrier and keep quiet. Don’t draw attention to yourself.
  5. When in the exam room, explore every nook and cranny. I mean this: Check the place out thoroughly.
  6. Do something to help you relax. I prefer massage as you can see from the photos, but yoga works. Meditation works, as does deep breathing. But since you’ve brought someone along, why not put him to work?
  7. Never give the medical personnel the upper hand. Make it clear from the get go that they serve you and not the other way around. Maintain an attitude of superiority throughout the examination. Cats are naturally talented in this area, but I think dogs and humans can pick the attitude up with a bit of practice.
  8. Never bring cash or a credit card with you. Always let your driver pick up the tab. This works better for dogs and cats than it does for humans, who must be more fiscally responsible.
  9. Sleep on the way back home.
  10. Do everything you can to remain healthy so as to limit your trips to the vet/doctor.
