Image Credit: clipart.com

Since we’ve just had the Academy Awards for this year, and War Horse was in the running for best picture, I started thinking about my favorite movies about horses. Over the years there have been many great pictures to choose from.

Hands down, my favorite is Hidalgo. The combination of Vigo Mortensen, the super-smart Mustang Hidalgo, lots of drama and a happy ending have all the elements I yearn for.

In case you can’t remember some of the others, here’s a brief reminder.

At the end of this post, please take a minute and vote for your favorite. And since this is not an exhaustive list, tell me your favorite if it’s not here.

The Black Stallion

This 1979 film is a classic love story between a boy and his horse. It runs the gamut of emotion, has gorgeous scenery, and plenty of action.

The Black Stallion

This 1979 film is a classic love story between a boy and his horse. It runs the gamut of emotion, has gorgeous scenery, and plenty of action.

 

National Velvet

Another horse movie for the whole family with a stellar cast including Elizabeth Taylor and Mickey Rooney. Made in 1945, this film stands the test of time. Many folks still count it among their favorites.

 

Secretariat

This 2010 film is a true-life story about a racing legend that in 1973 won the Triple Crown. This is a feel good film – no abuse, and no tragedy. In other words, my kind of movie!

 

The Horse Whisperer

Except for the terrible beginning when the horse is injured, I love this movie. The bond between horse and human is always thrilling for me. And Robert Redford isn’t too shabby either!

 

Seabiscuit

Another great racing story about a plucky little horse with a ton of heart.

 

The Man From Snowy River

I think it’s safe to say this is one of my husband’s favorites. Set in Australia with gorgeous scenery and a story line where against all odds, a young man rounds up wild horses and eventually wins the girl. Who wouldn’t like that?

 

The Electric Horseman

Robert Redford, Jane Fonda and Willie Nelson in a story about a washed up rodeo cowboy who abandons the Las Vegas stage and heads into the desert on a Derby winning horse.

 

Okay, I know this is a rather odd selection of horse movies, and there are so many others out there.

 

But this list kind of fits me doesn’t it?

 

