Here comes trouble!

Psychologists and other behavioral scientists that study such things, tell us if we ever have any hope of mastering a fear, we must face it.

“The way out is through,” they say.

Or to use a metaphor closer to home, “Get back on the horse that threw you.”

So this week, it was déjà vu all over again.

Bud and Pepper were happily munching on their grain, enjoying the day, feeling their bellies fill up.

All was right with their world.

Then Bud heard the sound of a diesel truck.

Up popped his head.

“I know what that is,” he thought. “And it’s not good.”

Have I mentioned that I am able to read a horse’s thoughts? Just pointing that out.

This time Miss P. was also involved.

Another semi loaded with baled hay was backing down the dirt road, right for them. (You can read about Bud’s previous adventure with the hay truck here.)

At almost the same time, our two old sweeties saw the truck, and in unison, walked to the other side of the car.

I had a small moment of panic, knowing that spooked horses sometimes do things that make no sense to us – things like running into the path of an oncoming truck instead of away from it.

I should have given Bud and Pepper more credit.

Watching the show

These days, they rarely run toward anything. Our two oldsters take their time. They sauntered with great dignity to what they thought was a safer location.

I carried their feed pans to them, so they could continue eating their lunch as we watched the show.

Even the horses in the nearby paddock seemed mesmerized. They watched like judges at an Olympic competition as this driver did his work.

I have to say I was in awe of how well the driver backed this truck through a fairly small gate and, in a completely straight line, down the dirt road.

My backing skills are nowhere near that accomplished.

Once he lined the truck up, he was in position to back into the hay shed.

This maneuver totally wowed me.

I fear, had I been in the driver’s seat, the hay shed would probably not still be standing. Or at the very least would have sustained some serious damage.

Safely tucked in the hay shed.

When it comes to backing up, I do my best work with words.

Bud and Pepper watched for a while as they nibbled up the last morsels of grain. Then I returned them to the pasture.

I’m not sure how many more times they will have to see the hay truck before they know it isn’t there to devour them.

I’m not sure how many times I will have to see the hay truck before  I know it isn’t going to smash one or all of us into the ground.

I’ll keep you posted on our progress.

Have you had a fear that you’ve mastered by facing it? Bud and Pepper are collecting survivor stories…

