Do you have those days when try as you might, your hair simply won’t do what you ask of it?

All the shampoos and conditioners and gels and sprays and special brushes don’t help. It’s as if your hair has a mind of its own.

Please tell me you know what I’m talking about.

I have those days.

As I get older, it seems I have more of them than I used to.

Am I becoming less proficient?

Am I having trouble seeing or getting my arms up in the air to carry out the styling?

Or do I just not care as much?

I’d like to think it’s the latter.

I’d like to think that I’m more comfortable in my own skin these days.

That I’ve finally come to figure out that beauty is an inside quality.

And I don’t have to look perfect.

Because I rarely accomplish that last one anyway.

We live in a culture that often tells us the opposite.

The pressure on young people, especially females, is tremendous. You must be thin, dressed in brand name clothing, have perfect hair, white teeth, flat abs, and carry a Coach bag (or the equivalent) or you don’t fit in. Not only do you not fit in, you are judged to be flawed, imperfect, and not valuable.

Where did we go so wrong?

When did we stop valuing authenticity over conformity?

When did we start thinking people wouldn’t like us because of our hair? Or teeth? Or clothes?

 

This sweet little horse is a great reminder about being perfect just the way you are.

Because isn’t she a beauty?

Wild hair and all.

In fact, I think that one strand of mane over her ear makes her absolute perfection.

And can’t we say the same about each of us?

And isn’t it time?

