This photograph is exactly why I love life.

You just never know what’s going to happen next. Normally one would NOT expect to see a bicycle parked atop a horse shed.

And yet, there it was.

I was leaving the boarding facility after having fed my two old sweeties.

My mind was on the lengthy to-do list that ran in a continuous loop in my brain.

Get to the post office before it closes, figure out what’s for dinner and then go to the grocery store, send those work emails, return a few phone calls and prep for the upcoming class I’m teaching.

Blah, blah, blah.

Stuff.

No different from your to-do lists, I’m sure.

Then I saw the bicycle up on that roof.

I did a double-take and found myself grinning.

I took a long, deep breath and interrupted the “do this, then do that” loop.

I actually laughed out loud.

“I’ve got to get a picture of this,” I said.

So I stopped driving.

And I stopped ruminating.

And for one glorious moment I simply enjoyed the absurdity of what I was looking at. I briefly wondered who put the bike up on the roof, and why he or she did such a thing.

But mostly I just allowed myself to be delighted.

 

As I headed for home I felt lighter, more relaxed.

And that to-do list seemed much more manageable.

I was refreshed, as if I’d been on a short vacation.

Which, come to think of it, I often feel when I’m out with the horses.

 

There are blessings everywhere when we take the time to notice them.

Know what I’m talking about?

Do share…

