I have to come clean with you on something. I am not going to see this movie.

I make this choice out of self-care – something I’m getting better at as I age.

I know it’s a Spielberg film nominated for many awards.

I know the trailer shows a gorgeous setting, a stunning horse, a beautiful relationship between this young man and his horse, and the promise of a happy ending.

But I also know it’s about war.

All the drama and angst that accompanied this very horrific war.

And I don’t want those images taking up residence in my brain.

For a long time.

Maybe forever.

I don’t want my limbic system to be hijacked,  and I am 99% certain that it will be if I sit through this movie.

In spite of myself, I will focus on the gory details, even if there aren’t many, because they will be so shocking.

So compelling.

So awful.

I don’t know about you, but my already exhausted, overly busy brain doesn’t need to be hijacked.

There is more than enough pain and fear and sadness in the world as it is. I definitely don’t need to introduce more.

I know not everyone will share my thinking on this.

But for me this is the 100% right decision.

 

P.S. If you’ve seen the film, let me know if you think I’m wrong on this call.

