Wednesdays with Mija

For those of you who are new to the blog or have forgotten, Mija is Jean’s sixteen-year- old earless cat. When she has something to say – like today’s post, Jean will translate for her. 

 

There are things that simply shouldn’t be mentioned in polite company. Thank goodness this blog isn’t one of those places, because I feel the need to tell you about my experience when I went to the veterinarian for a check up. I knew I’d get a sympathetic reception from you.

First, I want to make something crystal clear:

I don’t relish these trips to the doctor. I’m not a car person.

And I don’t like being poked and prodded. Especially by strangers. I don’t care how nice they are.

I was in the middle of a perfectly wonderful late afternoon nap when my people scooped me up and stuffed me into the cat carrier. That alone was unpleasant to say the least.

Then out into the cold we went.

Funny thing though, once we got to the vet’s office, I didn’t want to leave the carrier.

Now they had to pull me out.

One more indignity.

Turns out my back pain isn’t going away. I could have told them so without making this trip, but no one asked me. The chiropractic treatments haven’t done the job, so now I’m going to try pain meds.

We finished the exam and while we were in the waiting room checking out, I had a moment.

An embarrassing moment.

Everyone was cooing over me. “How are you Mija? Aren’t you just the cutest thing?”

And there I sat in a purple cage, vulnerable as heck, trying to be pleasant when all I wanted was get back in the car and go home.

I was purring loudly when all of a sudden a new noise came out of me. Out of the end opposite to my mouth. It sounded nothing like a purr, though I tried purring louder to cover up this new, offending sound.

“What the heck was that?” The receptionist peered into my cage.

Jean said, “I have no idea. Didn’t sound like a purr though.”

Then she had the gall to sniff, and announce that there was NOT a good smell coming from my cage.

This was really embarrassing.

Who wants their bodily functions discussed in public? Not me for sure.

They tried to pull me from the carrier, but I dug in. No way was I going to do this in the middle of the waiting room with a yellow lab the size of a small dinosaur watching.

Thank goodness my people decided to deal with this at home. They picked up the carrier and walked to the car.

I’ve never been so grateful in my life.

Usually I’m quite a talker in the car, but on this ride home I kept to myself.

Shame and humiliation have a way of silencing you.

Once home I had to get cleaned up. You don’t want the details here.

Trust me.

But I do now understand a saying I’ve heard on occasion in our house. “Never trust a fart,” he says.

Oh my goodness. So true.

 

 

