In our family Sundays are when we kick back and relax. We typically don’t schedule big projects or tasks that eat up the day. Like many of you, Sunday is mostly our day of rest.

  • Napping in the sun.
  • Getting outside for some fresh air.
  • Hanging out with friends and family.
  • People watching.
  • Meeting the new neighbors.

Well that’s exactly what happened this past Sunday.

Except, I’m talking about our resident fox family.

Turns out they aren’t so different from us when it comes to what they do on a beautiful Sunday.

When we happened to look out into the shared green space behind our house, we saw two foxes dozing at the base of a huge old cottonwood tree. They were stretched out, soaking up sun and seemingly oblivious to everything around them.

Well, not entirely.

When I stepped out on the deck for a better look, fox number one popped her head up.

“Who’s there?”

I took the hint and quietly stepped inside the house. Why should I ruin a perfectly good Sunday nap? I know how cranky I can get when someone interrupts me when I’m not ready to get up.

But I’d ruined the moment.

In a matter of minutes, both foxes ambled toward a nearby deck and slipped under it. They must have the ground level apartment.

A minute or so later we looked out again, just in time to see a neighborhood cat walk right up to the deck. She looked between the slats of the stairs. She knew something or someone was down there and she was on a mission to find whatever it was.

Cue the scary movie music.

I became worried for her safety and once again stepped onto my deck. I yelled at her to move away.

She ignored me.

I clapped my hands.

More ignoring.

She glanced back toward me with a rather snooty expression on her face. “Stop bugging me. Can’t you see I’m on to something here?”

On to something all right.

Like becoming Sunday dinner for two hungry foxes, I thought.

And I definitely did NOT want that kind of Discovery Channel drama intruding on my lazy Sunday.

But I couldn’t stop watching.

After what was to me an agonizingly long period of time, (in reality only a few more minutes) the cat sauntered away from the deck down an adjoining sidewalk.

Whew!

Crisis averted.

Then, as if she were teasing me, she turned and walked back to the deck.

She knew something wasn’t right, and she was going to figure it out.

Then one of the foxes emerged and came face to face with the cat.

I held my breath, ready to race outdoors.

My husband and I stood at the window, holding our  breath and watching.

But the fox and cat just looked at each other and did absolutely nothing.

There was no drama.

Thank goodness!

Finally the cat moseyed down the sidewalk again, with just the tiniest bit of attitude putting a spring in her step.

Clearly she felt she’d won this round.

The fox turned away. “I don’t’ even see you,” her body language said.

Clearly she felt she’d won.

Like I said, just another lazy Sunday in the suburbs.

 

P.S. Sorry about the fuzzy photos. I need a longer lens to do this story justice. But we use what we have, don’t we?

