There’s an old saying that goes something like this:

“Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.”

Other than the fact that I don’t like shaming anyone, especially myself, this aphorism has been quite apropos of late.

It seems Pepper is in a holiday mood.

Easter!

She’s having fun spilling the bucket of hay cubes and giving me a chance to pick them up.

It’s a horse version of the good old-fashioned Easter egg hunt.

Here’s where the learning opportunity for me comes in.

I know she’s fixated on those darned cubes. Doesn’t want to finish her grain when that bucket of yummy snacks is in plain sight.

Some days I’ve taken to hiding it in the back seat of the car.

Out of sight, out of mind. (I seem to be on a roll with clichés today!)

But, and this is a key point, NOT every day.

And on the days I don’t listen to my wiser self, I get to participate in the hay cube hunt.

You see Pepper waits until I’m busy putting Bud back in the pasture.

My hands are full.

My attention is occupied.

Then stealthy as a ninja, she walks away from the car to the fence post where I’ve foolishly set the bucket of cubes.

One innocent nudge from a mare’s nose and the hay cube hunt is in full swing.

She’s nibbling them up as fast as she can. And I’m bent over picking them up and piling them back in the bucket, as fast as I can.

You may wonder, “Couldn’t you keep the bucket on the ground?”

It’s a good question. And yes, I could.

In my defense, some days I do keep the bucket on the ground. Just not every day.

You may also be thinking that I’m a darned slow learner.

Right again.

I’m not sure what that’s about.

Stubborn is the best word I can come up with, but I’m not sure it exactly fits.

Distracted?

Unconscious?

Do you sometimes find yourself doing the same thing time and time again, even when you know the consequences are not something you want?

Like eating that third or fourth or even fifth piece of fudge.

What keeps us making  poor choices when we know better?

Please tell me you can relate.

Misery loves company!

 

P.S. The first person to comment below and name all the cliché’s I used in this post gets the satisfaction of becoming a card-carrying member of the word police.

