“It is after all December in Colorado,” I say to myself in a weak attempt to explain to my body why stamping my feet and wearing my warmest outerwear isn’t helping keep me warm.

We’re in a cold snap right now. Temps at night have dipped into negative numbers. And we’re all freezing.

Horse and human.

And cold horses mean hungry horses.

When the pasture is covered in snow, there isn’t much nourishment to be found.

And that hay delivery never seems like enough.

We supplement with daily grain feedings dosed with medicine for our two old sweeties.

I know it’s the difference between life and death for Miss Pepper, whose weight hovers around “scarily thin” through the winter.

While Bud and Pepper enjoy their grain, we hand out hay cubes or horse candy to the remaining members of the Herd of Oldsters: Amigo, Red and Chickadee.

On occasion we also give treats to Mama and her son Brio.

And Old Joe.

And sometimes one or two others.

Yes, we’re suckers.

If you’ve been reading this blog for any time at all, you already know that.

I simply can’t turn away from those eager, hungry faces.

We’re friends.

And friends don’t let friends go hungry.

Period.

End of discussion.

One especially chilly day this week, I became fascinated with frosty whiskers. Amigo, Red, Chickadee and an unknown interloper became my quasi-willing subjects. Anything for a hay cube seemed to be their motto.

In the end, we all got what we wanted.

Isn’t that the best of both worlds?

