Yesterday afternoon as I was feeding my two old sweeties, and stomping my feet in a feeble attempt to stay warm in the snowy, twenty-something-degree-day, I was given a gift.

The gift of a moment so golden, so magical it didn’t feel real.

And yet it was real – a simple, ordinary event.

It began with two young men walking down the dirt road into the pasture. One led a horse; the other pulled a blue sled. They let themselves in the gate, pushed through the Herd of Oldsters gathered for snacks, and continued into the adjacent pasture. They closed the gate to ensure their privacy.

You can tell from the photos, it was a distance away from me. How I wished for a better camera and a long lens! I watched as they hooked the rope of the sled to the horse’s saddle. And then off they went, horse cantering, sled skimming across the new snow.

It looked dangerous – and fun.

What else would you expect from young men?

Gradually a young woman with a blue stocking-hat and white pom-pom on top walked past me, leading her horse. She let herself into the pasture and joined her friends.

And a few minutes later, another girl carrying a lead rope walked past. I looked toward the horse-sled team and commented, “They’re having way too much fun.” She smiled. “That’s where I’m headed too. I’m going to ride bareback because it will be so much warmer.” She entered the pasture and found her horse. Soon enough she was part of the winter revelers.

They’d found a way to turn a gray winter afternoon into something really fun.

That alone was a nice gift – a reframe of my grumpiness at being cold.

But there was more.

The horses began to notice that something was up. Being curious animals, they couldn’t help but investigate.

One by one, they stopped, looked toward the far pasture, as if to try to figure out what was going on. And then they moved closer to the fence for a better look.

Eventually most of the herd (except the Herd of Oldsters who only had eyes for hay cubes) was gathered in the peanut gallery watching the horse-sled Olympics.

Peals of laughter in the distance made me smile. All grumpiness vanished as I vicariously joined in their fun.

 

And then to top the whole thing off and make the afternoon truly glow, as surely as if someone had taken a gold marker to gild the edges, the sky overhead filled with hundreds of Canada geese.

They were honking to each other, calling, nudging, supporting as they made their way from a nearby cornfield to their next destination. The sky was dark with their bodies above me. I could feel the air move with the beating of their wings. And the cacophony of their calls  was energizing and soothing at the same time.

Their migration lasted only a few minutes, but at the end of it, I was changed. I felt lighter.

Almost giddy.

And really blessed.

As I pondered this experience and its dramatic ability to change my mood, I realized that each of us has these opportunities every day.

Multiple times a day.

It may not be Canada geese and boys on horses and sleds, but it is something equally magical.

But so often, we miss them.

We get hunkered down in the business of our day, whatever that might be, and forget to raise our heads, look around us and be in this glorious, magical, beautiful world.

So as we head into the weekend, my wish for you is more magical, golden moments than you can count!

And if you’re so inclined, tell us what they are. Sometimes it takes one person seeing something before another can “get it.”

