Pepper thanks you from the bottom of her sweet mare’s heart for your input about her new coat for the winter.

In the poll, the brown polka dot coat was clearly the winner.

Next was the blue plaid.

She’s pondering your suggestions with great care.

 

There has been a development however, that you need to know.

While I don’t as a rule use this blog for controversy, I must make an exception in this case and leak a set of memos between Pepper and the Chief Financial Officer for Two Old Horses and Me.

In the interest of full disclosure.

TO: Pepper

FR: CFO

RE: New winter coat

While I am sympathetic to your desire to update your wardrobe, I’m afraid I must inform you that it cannot happen this year. As you know, we are experiencing a downturn in the economy and have carefully allocated every dollar in our budget.

Our policy has always been to replace coats only when absolutely necessary. That is to say, when the old one is threadbare and no longer functional. And as you well know, your lovely blue coat is in perfect condition.

If we were to replace a coat, it would be for Bud. He’s wearing a hand-me-down from you, which isn’t even his correct size. It looks as if he’s wearing high water pants, and what self-respecting gelding wants that?

In sum, I must regretfully deny your request for a new winter coat.

 

TO: CFO

FR: Pepper

RE: New winter coat

I’ve talked with Bud and he says he doesn’t care about a new coat. We could easily transfer those resources to my coat fund.

 

TO: Pepper

FR: CFO

RE: New winter coat

Thank you for this information, however my answer is still “no.” If we don’t purchase a new coat for Bud (and that decision has not been finalized), then we will redirect those funds to purchase grain, hay cubes and other necessities for your survival through the winter.

 

TO: CFO

FR: Pepper

RE: New winter coat

#*$%!! (expletive deleted)

I hate budgets…

 

 

Note from Jean:

Thank you dear readers for allowing me to be silly with you.

There are days when it helps to step away from the stress and drama and seriousness that life sometimes brings. And what better place than here with the horses and you!

