As we head into this winter season, I am grateful beyond words to the little elf that gifted me with a pair of Bogs boots last year.

So grateful!

As you can see from the photo, the approach to the gate where our two old sweeties currently reside is a long stretch of dirt road.

In the last couple of weeks we’ve had two significant snowstorms that each dropped around eight or so inches of the white stuff.

 

And then, because it’s Colorado, we only had to wait a little while before the weather changed again. Enter several days where temperatures climbed into the fifties.

And all that snow melted into a mini-lake.

Now you see why I’m so glad to have my Bogs. I just wade through the mud and snow and water without giving it a second thought. In fact, some days I deliberately walk in the water.

Because I can.

Splashing in puddles is a kid-like behavior, and it feels oddly freeing, exhilarating.

I have no concern about getting wet, or muddy.

I splish-splash through the water without any worries at all.

For those few minutes inserted into some very busy days for me, I savor the feeling of being completely carefree.

And able to walk through every puddle in my path.

 

Do you have serendipitous moments like this that instantly transport you to childhood memories?

I’d love to hear about them.

