“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. Security does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than exposure.”

~ Helen Keller

Over the weekend my sister and I were at one of the local nurseries and came upon this indoor pond. The resident turtle was standing on a stone ledge, dipping his toe into the water.

It reminded me of how I usually enter a swimming pool. I’m always sure the water is going to be really COLD, so like the turtle, I’m a toe-dipper.

This little guy stood, poised with one foot in the water for a long time. In fact, we didn’t see him enter the pond. Maybe he never intended to get in. I could be jumping to conclusions.

Who am I to know what a turtle is thinking?

He did inspire me to think about how I approach my life.

Sometimes I’m cautious, checking things out thoroughly before taking action. No rash actions, no surprises. It’s the old “measure twice, cut once” mentality.

All in all, I don’t think this is a bad approach to life. But it is also very predictable and sometimes just plain boring. And I’ve learned over time that one can never completely predict what’s going to happen.

There are other times when I throw caution to the wind and jump into the water full on. Who cares about the consequences?

Be bold.

Grab life by the horns.

(Wow, how many clichés can I fit into one paragraph?)

This is a much more interesting life view. Adrenaline is pumping and I am caught in the excitement of the moment. I’ve made plenty of decisions in this mode – some turned out well and others tanked.

But I have to say that overall it was affirming.

Freeing, really.

What about you? 

Are you cautious or one to jump in full throttle?

And more to the point, what do you think contributed to your style?

How does toe-dipping work for you?

Or conversely, what are the benefits for you of doing a cannonball dive into your life?

I told the turtle I’d get back to him…

 

 

 

 

