I first heard that Steve Jobs died as I was driving to a meeting Wednesday night.

It surprised me even though I knew he stepped down from Apple for health reasons.

Right away I picked up my phone and called my husband, not to gossip, but to share the information with someone I knew cared.

I needed to reach out.

But Rick was busy with the horses, and didn’t pick up.

Death reminds all of us that we are only on loan to this planet and had better make the best of our short tenure.

For me that always means connecting with the people I love.

I knew Rick would want to know about Steve Jobs, because he’s been a Mac fan from the beginning. In fact, he brought two things into our relationship that have significantly changed my life:

  • Bud, the personality-plus Appaloosa
  • Apple computers

    Because of his love of all things Apple, we’ve never owned anything but a Mac. I’m writing this blog on a Mac. All of the photos I share with you about life in the pasture are processed in iPhoto. I have an iPad, and an iPod. I get music from iTunes. I don’t say this to brag or show off.  I’m just saying that we are raving fans.

Mac users are like that. It’s a club not everyone belongs to, though for the life of me I don’t understand why not. When someone tells me they work on a Mac, their street cred instantly goes up in my eyes.

The world has lost an amazing visionary man.

Steve Jobs made it possible for the average, everyday person to use computers. His eye for clean lines and design are legend. He figured out what we needed, long before we had an inkling of it. Then he made us want it.

My grandson will never know a time when there were no iPods, smart phones, tablet computers, or half-inch-thick laptops. Downloading music will be a way of life for him.

Thank you Steve Jobs for ushering us into this brave new world.

You made a huge difference and we are better for you being here.

Rest in peace.

