Wednesdays with Mija

Kitty Warhol (Larimer Humane Meow-seum)

Mine is a very comfortable life. Thanks to the people I live with, I have exactly what I need – and want.

Almost all the time.

I have the special treats that I love, and a full dish of kibble always at the ready.

I have healthy doctor-prescribed food for my aging body’s needs.

I have a heated sleeping pad for those days and nights when I just can ‘t get warm.

I have a beautiful garden in which to ponder the world’s mysteries and doze in the sun.

I get a daily massage and, most important, I have two people who dote on me. And believe me, the feeling is mutual!

Yes, I have a lovely life.

I don’t mean to brag or go on and on. It’s just that I’m trying to make a point.

You see, not all animals live in this kind of luxury. Nor do all people, but that’s a topic for another time.

That’s where the Larimer Humane Society comes in. This organization does its very best to find forever homes for abandoned animals. But they need financing to carry out this overwhelming task.

There are so many animals in need of homes; in need of friends.

I speak from first hand experience: To be left to fend for yourself by people you thought loved you and were committed to caring for you, is a horrifying experience.

Horrifying.

So many awful things can happen, I can’t even think about it anymore.

You can help by making a donation to the Larimer Humane Society.

Henri Meowtisse (Larimer Humane Meow-seum)

On Friday, October 21st, they’re having a big shindig – A Night at the Meow-seum. There will be music, animal art, a parade of adoptable animals, food, and a silent auction. All to benefit cats and dogs and rabbits and gerbils and hamsters and turtles and snakes and ….

You’ll find al the details on their website. You can also reserve your spot at the Meow-seum, or make a donation. I’m quite certain they’d be thrilled with anything you can give.

You know, you’d think that human beings who can figure out space travel, invent so many amazing electronic devices like computers and cell phones and ipads and ipods, and find cures for devastating diseases, could figure out how to keep animals safe.

Wouldn’t ya?

 

Happy Wednesday!

