Over a year ago, I bared my soul to you and confessed that I have an otherworldly fondness for red licorice Twizzlers. Not an ounce of redeeming nutrition in them, but quite tasty all the same.

I even gave my sister credit for introducing us.

“Jean, I’d like you to meet Twizzlers. And Twizzlers, this is my sister Jean. I know the two of you are going to get on famously.”

Well I don’t think she’s said the word famously ever in her life, but otherwise, it kinda, sorta went down like that.

Fast forward to August last summer when my wonderful, amazing son was visiting. In a scenario worthy of a television sitcom, we each pulled out a small birthday gift for the other.

You guessed it – a bag of Twizzlers.

Turns out he likes the red twisty licorice as much as I do. There has to be a genetic link here somewhere – my sister, me, and now my son, all licorice lovers.

But wait, there’s more.

This summer, I found that my grandson is a Twizzler fan. He’s not even two years old yet, but is already following his genetic destiny.

This can’t be a coincidence.

There must be hard science behind it.

Don’t you agree?

Perhaps the Hershey Company would be interested in this amazing family legacy!

Does your family have a food legacy?

Something everyone, or most everyone likes to eat?

Do tell!

